Polls closed 7pm on Thursday March 28th. The ballot mostly consisted of unopposed races but a few key races and amendments were present. Jeremy Meritt won Student Body Treasurer, Miguel Cecchini do Amaral won Business Analytics Rep, and Kevin Hines won On-Campus Rep. Both amendments passed.

Key Races

Student Body Treasurer

– Jeremy Meritt (Winner)
– Kevin Hines

Merrit won with 108 votes. Hines was behind with 41 votes

Business Analytics Representative

Correction: On the previous versions of the ballot guide as well as the official ballot the Business Analytics position was mislabeled as Data Science. Data Science did not have a candidate in the Spring General. It will be an open position in the Fall General.

– Miguel Cecchini do Amaral (Winner)
– Austin Giardullo

Cecchini do Amaral won with 11 votes. Giardullo trailed with 4 votes.

Matthew Desaulniers is at the polling desk with Elections Chair Robert Acacio and elections aid Antonio Hendricks explaining the ballot. Photo: Jason Chua / Layers Media

On Campus Representative

–¬†Spencer Bishop¬†
– Kevin Hines (Winner)

Hines won with 49 votes. Bishop came in 2nd with 34 votes.


Both amendments passed and typically will take effect at 8pm on May 1st 2019.

Amendment 2: “Senate Reapportionment”

Amendment 2 passes with 128 yays and 20 nays meeting the 3/5ths majority needed to pass. This amendment will take effect for the Spring 2020 election.

In essence, amendment 2 would change the senate allocation to be by college. It is currently allocated by major. Read more on amendment 2 here.

Amendment 4: “Judicial Requirements Amendment”

Amendment 4 passes with 127 yays and 22 nays meeting the 3/5ths majority needed to pass.

Not all majors are required to take an ethics course following catalog changes. Amendment 4 would remove the requirement for members of the Judicial Branch to have taken an ethics course.

Unopposed Races

Student Body President

Ryan Perez (Winner)

Student Body Vice President

Sinead Fernandes (Winner)

Student Body Chief of Staff

Spencer Bishop (Winner)

Computer Science Rep

Amal John (Winner)

Computer Engineering Rep

Shanika Miorana (Winner)

Electrical Engineering Rep

Roberto Sardinha (Winner)

Mechanical & Industrial Engineering Rep

Dylan Amisano (Winner)

Sophomore Class Rep

Samantha Ashby (Winner)

Junior Class Rep

Connor Coddington (Winner)

Senior Class Rep

David Ciccarello (Winner)

Off Campus Rep

Juan Forero (Winner)

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to Layers Media and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 95 other subscribers

Jason Chua is the founder and former Editor of Layers. For questions, comments, or concerns about this or other stories, email or tweet @layers_media

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.